Close this search box.

12 Finalists for the Midlands in Irish Bar of the Year Awards 2023

A big day for Midlands Hospitality as the region receives 12 nominations in the Irish Bar of the Year Awards 2023.

Bars across the region have been named finalists in 8 different categories, from Hotel Bar of the Year, to Gastro Bar of the Year, Tourist Bar of the Year and Best Value Pub.

Leading the charge of finalists with 4 nominations each are Gertie Browne’s in Athlone and Peadar’s Bar in Moate.

Gertie Browne’s, Athlone

Gertie Browne’s are finalists for Gastro Bar of the Year, Bar Food of the Year, Tourist Bar of the Year and Local Bar of the Year. Located right in the heart of Athlone, just steps from the River Shannon, Gertie’s in famous with locals and tourists as a place for hearty food and a great pint.

Peadar’s, Moate

Peader’s Bar in Moate are finalists for Traditional Bar of the Year, Local Bar of the Year, Outside Space of the Year and Best Value Pub. An Old World pub, famous for their pint of Guinness and live music, located in the heart of Moate.

Fisherman’s Thatched Inn, Ballybrittas

The Fisherman’s Thatched Inn in Fisherstown, Ballybrittas are finalists for Tourist Bar of the Year and Outside Space of the Year. The picture-perfect thatched bar is a destination in itself, quietly located close to the Grand Canal and River Barrow.

Wineport Lodge, Glasson

The Wineport Lodge in Glasson are finalists for Hotel Bar of the Year. Nestled on the shores of Lough Ree, the Wineport Lodge is a relaxed lakeside retreat, renowned for their restaurant, spa, and tranquil setting.

J.J. Hough’s, Banagher

Finally, J.J. Hough’s in Banagher are finalists for Traditional Bar of the Year. Known as ‘The Singing Pub’, J.J. Hough’s is a traditional Irish bar hidden, famous for their vine-covered pub, and more recently for their successful series of short films on social media.

People’s Choice Award

All the finalists will go on to represent the region at the Grand Finale on August 21st, and each finalist is also now in the running for the People’s Choice Award which is voted for by the public. Follow the link to vote for your People’s Choice winner.


Read More

Skip to content