Close this search box.

Midlands winners at SuperValu Tidy Towns 2022

It was another great year for the Midlands in the SuperValu Tidy Towns Competition 2022, with many awards and medals across Laois, Longford, Offaly and Westmeath. Now entering it’s 65th year, the spirit of Tidy Towns is about more than the awards, it’s about communities and people coming together to improve the places where we live. Hundreds of thousands of people have participated in community initiatives over the years, with Tidy Towns becoming a national movement with over 800 towns and villages participating each year.

In the 2022 results, Geashill, Co. Offaly was awarded the highest score in the Midlands with 363 points, the incredible score was just 3 points behind the overall national winner, and was followed by Abbeyleix, Co. Laois, and Abbeyshrule, Co. Longford, both on 362, just 4 short of the winning score.

The high scores and awards for the region are part of a proud history for the Midlands in the Tidy Towns Competition, with the region winning the overall national award a total of 8 times since the competition began in 1958.

2022 Midlands Tidy Towns Awards

Gold Medal Awards

  • Abbeyleix, Co. Laois
  • Abbeyshrule, Co. Longford
  • Geashill, Co. Offaly
  • Tullamore, Co. Offaly
  • Athlone, Co. Westmeath

Silver Medal Awards

  • Portlaoise, Co. Laois
  • Birr, Co. Offaly
  • Ballinahown, Co. Westmeath

Bronze Medal Awards

  • Newtowncashel, Co. Longford
  • Longford Town, Co. Longford
  • Clonbullogue, Co. Offaly
  • Mullingar, Co. Westmeath
  • Tyrellspass, Co. Westmeath

Endeavour Awards

  • Portarlington, Co. Laois
  • Kilcormac, Co. Offaly
  • Barry, Co. Longford
  • Baylin, Co. Westmeath

In addition, Midlands towns and villages were also recognised and shortlisted in a number of the Specialist Awards announced at the event.

Climate Action Awards

  • Ferbane, Co. Offaly

Sustainable Development Goals Awards

  • Mullingar, Co. Westmeath

Young Persons in Tidy Towns Awards

  • Durrow, Co. Laois

RIAI Shopfronts Award

  • Birr, Co. Offaly

Waters and Communities Awards

  • Athlone Canal Heritage

Local Authority Pollinator Awards

  • Geashill, Co. Offaly

SuperValu Schools Awards

  • Aughnagarron National School, Co. Longford

County Winners 2022


  • 1st – Abbeyleix – 362 points
  • 2nd – Ballacolla – 342 points
  • 3rd – Durrow – 340 points


  • 1st – Abbeyshrule – 362 points
  • 2nd – Newtowncashel – 351 points
  • 3rd – Longford Town – 345 points


  • 1st – Geashill – 363 points
  • 2nd – Clonbullogue – 354 points
  • 3rd – Tullamore – 353 points


  • 1st – Ballinahown – 356 points
  • 2nd – Tyrellspass – 353 points
  • 3rd – Athlone – 347 points

While the Awards take centre stage each year, what’s really worth highlighting are the hours, days, months and years that are given by volunteers and communities to their local towns and villages as part of the programme. The Tidy Towns competition represents the very best of our communities, and special thanks to each and every person behind the scores for each of our Midlands towns and villages. Congratulations also to our neighbours in Trim on a well-deserved overall win, being named as Ireland’s Tidiest Town for 2022.

For those interested in getting involved, search for the Tidy Towns in your village or town online, and join in now to be part of the 2023 Awards!


Read More

Skip to content